Defending the Faith

1 Peter 3:15 says, ‘But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts, and always be ready to give a defense to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you, with meekness and fear.’

Have you ever had to take up a stand for Jesus? I have plenty of times, but doing so can be very hard even for a strong Christian. Studying God’s word can help so much in defending your faith. Also remember that even if you do not seem to get to a person at first, you are planting seeds of light in him/her.

Standing up for our faith can be one of the hardest things to do. I personally have had the pleasure of doing so many times. Defending your faith is a good way to reach non-Christians when they see Christ shine through you. Unfortunately, the main people to question me are my closest friends. This is a common occurrence especially when your friends are either not Christians or just not strong ones.

Studying God’s word is the best way to prepare for holding your ground. The Psalmist wrote, ‘Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You.’(Psalms 119:11 NKJV) The Bible is not just to help us not sin. The Bible, when we memorize Scripture, helps us defend our faith. My father is always telling me that the best way to convince someone of something is to use the Word. That is why I put an emphasis on using plenty of Scripture in my posts.

According to Jesus, the Word is a seed that we plant in other people’s lives. Even when someone does not listen to your defense, those seeds are planted. God’s Word will work in their lives. Do not be discouraged when your accusers do not seem to listen. They are listening and your defense of the faith might be the thing that brings them to Christ. Isaiah 55:11 says, ‘So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

Do not back away from defending your faith, even when it is hard. Study the Bible and pray, God will be there and help you. Even when people do not listen, God will work in their lives with the words you speak.

Leave a Reply

