Love Is: Part 2

Love Is: Part 2

 

…does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil…

1 Corinthians 13:5

It is week two of the Love Is series and this week we are going to think on verse five of 1 Corinthians 13. Love is not rude to others or put itself before others. Love cannot be replaced by anger. Also love does not want to hurt others.

Paul’s fourth point about love is that love is not rude. I have love for my parents; therefore I respect them and strive to not be rude to them. Yes, I mess up and disrespect them at times, but I do my best to not because I love them. If you love someone, then you are not going to be disrespectful or rude to them. You are going to try to show your love by respecting the object of your love.

Love causes one to seek to put others before oneself. If you love someone, then you are going to put their needs before your own. For example, my BFF has cerebral palsy. She can only walk using assistive devices. I help her with many things and put her needs before my own. I love her like a sister and I would do almost anything for her. If I did not love her I would never do that.

Love cannot be provoked. This statement basically means that no matter what the object of your love does, you will still love them. When one is married and truly loves the other — I am not even close to that, so I am taking this from watching my parent’s relationship — even when their partner angers them, they still love him or her. My parents get into arguments sometimes, but after both have calmed down they hug and forgive each other. That is what true love is.

Love thinks no evil. This goes back to last week when I said that love is kind. Love cannot even think about hurting the object of that love. Siblings will get on your nerves and make you get mad, but you still love them and would never think of hurting them. If you love someone, you would never want to hurt them, it wouldn’t come to mind.

Love is not disrespectful, love puts others before oneself, and love does not think to do evil to the object of one’s love. These are some important aspects of love that most people forget. Try to remember these everyday as you see people you love.

 

Leave a Reply

