Why Modesty?

 

‘In like manner also, that the women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with propriety and moderation, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or costly clothing, but, which is proper for women professing godliness, with good works.’                                                                                1 Timothy 2:9-10

 

 

 

                 I get questions often about why I only wear dresses and skirts. My mom and sister do not, so why do I? The above verse is my answer along with a story of why God called me to do so. Christian women are not supposed to worry about the beauty of the world but the beauty God cares about. You can be beautiful and modest at the same time.

 

                God called me to be more modest not long after my 15th birthday. I had filled out and guys were starting to notice. God told me to start wearing only dresses and skirts. I followed His instruction, but I tried to get around the mandate and wear short dresses and skirts. God finally convinced me of how modest I should be. Now I don’t wear dresses or skirts shorter than right above my knee. If they are between my knee and mid-thigh I wear leggings underneath. I do not wear any revealing tops or ones that show my bra. Not everyone is the same with the amount of modesty God requires of them, but Christian women should be modest and dignified.

 

                Paul tells Timothy that women should not care about the beauty of the world but of the beauty of the spirit. This goes back to a verse in the Bible that tells us to be in the world but not of the world. Women are to be modest in appearance, not caring about what the world thinks is beautiful but what God thinks is beautiful. We should be Proverbs 31 women. I encourage you to read this description of the perfect godly woman. That single chapter is a tutorial to be the woman God wants you to be, how to be beautiful in spirit. My favorite verse is the verse 30, ‘Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.’

 

                Being modest does not mean you cannot be beautiful. Being modest can make you even more gorgeous than being immodest. I can put on a knee-length midi skirt and tucked t-shirt with flats and look just as beautiful, if not more, than a worldly girl beside me. The fact that I have the light of Jesus helps even more. My kind and gentle spirit makes me a diamond in this world. Shining His light draws people like moth to a flame.

 

Who cares what the world thinks of beauty? All that matters is what God thinks. He wants His daughters to be modestly beautiful.  As Christian women all we have to do is shine the light of Jesus.

 

Check out my Bio.

Leave a Reply

